

# Breviate of Meeting of the Transportation Strategic Policy Committee Held on 30<sup>th</sup> January, 2019

# Item No.

- Minutes of meeting held on 14<sup>th</sup> November, 2018 Minutes agreed.
- 2. Letter dated 21<sup>st</sup> November, 2018, to Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport and copy of Minister's reply dated 15<sup>th</sup> January, 2019, regarding bicycle couriers.

**Letter and reply noted.**BusConnects – update by the National Transport Authority

Anne Graham CEO, National Transport Authority gave a presentation on BusConnects, in which she detailed the core bus corridors currently out for public consultation. Details of the project are available at <a href="https://www.busconnects.ie">www.busconnects.ie</a> **Presentation noted.** 

3. College Green Plaza – verbal update

Mr. Brendan O'Brien, A/Executive Manager (Traffic), updated the Members on College Green proposals and the trial pedestrianisation of Suffolk Street.

Noted.

4. Metro Link – verbal update

Mr. Brendan O'Brien, A/Executive Manager (Traffic), updated the Members on the Metrolink project.

Noted.

5. Liffey Cycle Route – verbal update

Mr. Brendan O'Brien, A/Executive Manager (Traffic) informed the Committee that Dublin City Council await a report from the National Transport Authority on the review of the options for the Liffey Cycle Route.

Noted.

 Dublin Agglomeration Environmental Noise Action Plan, 2018 to 2023 – update following public consultation (report).
 Report noted. 7. Proposed Dublin City Council Parking Control Bye-Laws 2019 (report and draft Bye-Laws).

It was agreed to refer the Draft Dublin City Council Parking Control Bye-Laws 2019 to the City Council for approval to initiate the public consultation process.

8. Proposed Bridges in Docklands Area – verbal update

Ms. Karen Kennedy, Snr Executive Engineer gave update on Dodder Public Transport Bridge; Blood Stoney Pedestrian and Cycling Bridge; Point Pedestrian & Cycling Bridge and Spencer Dock Pedestrian Cycling Bridges.

Noted.

9. Increasing green and amber phases on pedestrian signals by one second

Mr. Brendan O'Brien, A/Executive Manager (Traffic) outlined proposals to change the amber timing from 1.2 metres per second to 1 metre per second. **Report noted.** 

10. Velo City Dublin 2019 - verbal update

A draft programme is available to view online at – <a href="https://www.velo-city2019.com/conference-programme">www.velo-city2019.com/conference-programme</a>. **Noted.** 

11. Public Realm Strategy Implementation

The Group continue to advance the delivery of the City Centre Masterplan projects and noted that 17 of the 21 projects are now commenced. **Report noted.** 

12. Minutes of Cycling and Walking Sub-Committee meeting held on 27<sup>th</sup> September, 2018.

Minutes noted.

### **Motions**

13. Motion in the name of Councillor Patrick Costello (deferred from meeting of 14<sup>th</sup> November, 2018):

"That this committee agrees to amend Dublin City Council street nameplate policy so that where a street is named in honour of someone a secondary sign of similar design is provided which gives a brief one sentence description and their dates of birth and death are included. This is standard practice in other cities, such as Paris for example, and will ensure the knowledge of the person honoured is carried on along with their name."

#### Motion deferred.

14. Motion in the name of Councillor Ciarán Cuffe.

"That all five and six day operation bike lanes be changed to seven day operation"

Motion agreed.

Cllr. Ciarán Cuff Chairperson 1<sup>st</sup> February 2019

## **ATTENDANCE:**

#### **SPC Members:**

Cllr Ciarán Cuffe, Chairperson; Cllr Kieran Binchy; Cllr Mannix Flynn; Cllr Paul Hand; Cllr Jane Horgan-Jones; Cllr Frank Kennedy; Cllr Paddy McCartan; Cllr Ray McHugh; Cllr Ciarán O'Moore; Cllr Paddy Smyth; Ms Fiona Kelty, NCBI; Mr Frank Mulligan, IRHA; Mr Richard Guiney, Dublin Town; Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking Association; Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Mr Barry Aldworth, AA Ireland Ltd.

## **Dublin City Council Staff:**

Mr Dick Brady, Assistant Chief Executive; Mr Brendan O'Brien, Acting Executive Manager (Traffic); Mr Brian McManus, Head of Traffic, Noise and Air Quality Unit; Ms. Patricia Reidy, Acting Senior Engineer; Mr Dermot Stevenson, Parking Enforcement Officer; Mr Andy Walsh, Senior Engineer; Mr Clive Ahern, Administrative Officer; Siobhan Maher, Administrative Officer; Ms Karen Kennedy, Senior Executive Engineer, Ms Maggie O'Donnell, Senior Executive ITS Officer; Derek Dixon, Project Engineer.

Ms Esther Hickey, Administrative Officer; Ms Mary Boyle, a/Senior Staff Officer; Mr Michael Mann, Staff Officer; Mr Fergal McKay, Assistant Staff Officer.

**National Transport Authority:** Ms Anne Graham, CEO and Mr Hugh Creegan, Director of Transport Investment and Taxi Regulation.